The Molecular Genetics and Carcinogenesis Section conducts studies using human epithelial cells to assess: activation of proto-oncogenes by chemical and physical carcinogens; inactivation and dysregulation of tumor suppressor genes by chemical and physical carcinogens; and direct and indirect mechanisms of genotoxicity caused by chemical and physical carcinogens.

Current Research projects in the Molecular Genetics and Carcinogenesis Section:
Liver Carcinogenesis Unit
Hypoxia & Tumorigenesis Unit
Tumor Suppressor Genes
Nitric Oxide as an endogenous carcinogen
Apoptosis
Annual Bibliography
Postdoctoral Opportunities

Staff Members


Curtis C. Harris
Section Chief
Curtis_Harris@nih.gov


Elise Bowman
Chemist
bowmane@mail.nih.gov


John Bradsher
CRTA Fellow
bradshej@mail.nih.gov


Nobutoshi Hagiwara
Special Volunteer
hagiwarn@mail.nih.gov


Lorne Hofseth
Research Fellow (VP)
lorneh@mail.nih.gov


Syed Perwez Hussain
Staff Scientist
hussainp@mail.nih.gov


Weidong Jiang
CRTA Fellow


Mohammed A. Khan
Biologist
khanm@mail.nih.gov


Julie Goldman
Cancer Prevention Fellow
goldmanj@mail.nih.gov


Leah Mechanic
Cancer Prevention Fellow
mechanicl@mail.nih.gov


Shu Okamura
Special Volunteer
okamuras@mail.nih.gov


Hitoshi Onogi
Special Volunteer
onogih@mail.nih.gov


Remy Pedeux
Visiting Fellow
pedeux@mail.nih.gov


Ana Robles
Research Fellow
roblesa@mail.nih.gov


Sagar Sengupta
Visiting Fellow
sagars@mail.nih.gov


Irfan Shaikh
Pre-CRTA Fellow
shaikhi@intra.nci.nih.gov


Natasha Sinogeeva
Visiting Fellow

sinogen@intra.nci.nih.gov


Hideaki Shiga
Special Volunteer

shigah@mail.nih.gov


James Shen
Visiting Fellow

shenj@mail.nih.gov


Elisa Spillare
Biologist
spillare@mail.nih.gov


Frank Staib
Visiting Fellow
staibf@mail.nih.gov


Judith A. Welsh
Biologist
welshj@mail.nih.gov


Gerald Wogan
Senior Research Fellow
wogang@mail.nih.gov


Qin Yang
Research Fellow
yangq@mail.nih.gov


Zhipeng Yu
Biologist
zhipengy@mail.nih.gov


Ran Zhang
Biologist
zhangr@mail.nih.gov


Yun-Ling Zhang
Research Fellow
zhengy@mail.nih.gov

[Home] | [Office of the Chief] [ME Section] [Hypoxia & Tumorigenesis Unit] [Liver Carcinogenesis Unit] |
[Complete Bibliography] | [Post Doctoral Opportunities]